Greetings from the American Airlines Admirals Club at O’Hare, which is uncharted territory as a) I seldom fly American & b) seldom (read: never) fly Business or First Class. It’s pretty great, btw. People are totally passed-out asleep on really nice leather recliners.

Seeing as I’m about to embark on a gin-centric trip hosted by Pernod Ricard, I had every intention of cashing in my Admirals Club drink ticket for a Beefeater-and-tonic. And yet, my only options were Tanqueray, Bombay and Hendrick’s. Apparently, American Airlines (or is it O’Hare?) is in cahoots with Diageo. Oh well. I went with Hendrick’s, for the record, sans lime. Have you ever tried a Hendrick’s & tonic with an airport lime? It just sounds gross.

Anyway, for the next week or so, I plan to blog daily about my adventures across the pond learning about Beefeater and Plymouth. I’ll be tweeting as much as my international plan allows, using the hashtag #GinandTales (our trip is titled A Tale of Two Cities for London and Plymouth — cute). V. excited to get this show on the road already. On tomorrow’s agenda: Successfully avoiding jetlag by spending the afternoon at the Victoria and Albert Museum. !!!

