It’s going to be 80 degrees today. We’re so close to summer, I can taste it.

Specifically, I can taste the gin & tonics, and the PBR, and the rose. (These are my go-to summer drinks, among others.) In Chicago, PBR season lasts pretty much all year, and in my house, there’s always a g&t if you want it. But rose season is more specific. It’s happening right this minute. Proof: One of my favorite restaurants is kicking off its “Fete de Rose” this weekend, and meanwhile Lillet Rose (which I can’t link to because its website is perpetually in “peau neuve”) is starting to make its way into local shops. I wrote about it for Chicago Magazine and will link when it’s out.

In related news, I’ve been saving this bottle of Moet & Chandon Rose Imperial for a special occasion, and tonight is the night…

…primarily because I’m celebrating my handsome beau (!), but also, ’tis the season!

p.s. If you’re wondering why every other photograph of a bottle has a bowl of fruit in the background, it’s because I’m super lazy and take snapshots on my kitchen table. And yes, we eat the fruit. Eddie Izzard would be proud.

