I’m still playing catch up with posting Central Park Cocktail Club meetings that fell between the cracks on this here blog, which was sadly neglected most of last year. (Sorry, blog!)

bitters bonanza (Bill Hogan/Chicago Tribune)

Last February, for instance, I was all about bitters, researching a related story that ran in the Chicago Tribune. Truth be told, I went a little nuts. This photo documents all the bitters I amassed in the name of research. Anyone who owns bitters and uses them knows that a little goes a long way, so needless to say, I’m good for awhile.

My related¬†cocktail club presentation went way back to bitters’ roots: the nearly simultaneous development of the Angostura and Peychaud’s brands in the 1830s, on up through the naval tradition of drinking pink gin.

Here’s the recipe, if you can call it that:

Pink Gin
1 part Plymouth gin (1 poured 2-3 ounces)
Angostura bitters (for rinsing glass)
Lemon rind garnish

Rinse a cold glass in Angostura bitters (4-5 drops should do it), fill with gin, garnish with lemon rind & serve sans ice, as the sailors would do.

